My brown-skin baby they take him away, re-visited

For some reason, lately, people are looking for Bob Randall’s masterpiece, My Brown-skin baby (they take him away), and finding this previous post, containing that song and a few others, including some poetry.

If this is you, please feel free to email me for the song – it’s no longer sitting at the other end of that link, but I’m happy to share it with you.

34 comments so far

  1. Kat D on

    Hi. I’m looking very hard for an audio of Bob Randal’s song, my Brown skin Baby. I’d love for you to email me at the above address, and share it with me. Please.
    Thanks.

  2. Maggiemay on

    Hello,

    I am searching for the lyrics to Bob Randal’s song ‘Brown Skin Baby’ to share with my students. If you could email me the lyrics and/ or audio it would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

  3. bridget on

    i am also looking for the lyrics of my brown skinned baby for an engliah assignment if you could please email them to me

  4. Anonymous on

    hey ime looking for ‘my brown skinned baby’ lyrics plz…

  5. madeline on

    look it up on youtube

  6. Anonymous on

    its the last track on tiddas’s albun

  7. michelle griffen on

    Could you please email the lyrics and/or audio for my brown skin baby…….
    Thank you

  8. Heike Mohr on

    Hallo,

    I am also searching for the lyrics to Bob Randal’s song ‘Brown Skin Baby’ to share with my students in Germany. If you could email me the lyrics and/ or audio it would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

  9. Claudia A on

    Hi,
    I am also looking for the lyrics to Bob Randal’s song, to share with my year 5 class. If you could email me the lyrics please.

    Much appreciated.

  10. Mariya on

    Hi. Are you still e-mailing lyrics to “Brown Skin Baby”? I’ve got it on cd – Nobody’s People: Stolen Generation 2004 – but it would save me a terrific amount of time if you could send me the words. I’m putting together resources for local schools to encourage them to discuss Stolen Generation issues with their students.

    Taa

    • William on

      Could you plz send me a copy of Brown skin baby song plz

    • Trish Cerminara on

      I am looking for a hard copy and lyrics to brown skin baby for my aboriginal maternity program.

      Am i able to get a copy?

      Please

    • Anonymous on

      hello i am also looking for the lyrics if you have them?

  11. Anonymous on

    hi, i’m doing an assignment on this song and would really appreciate having the lyrics
    thanks!

  12. Hi… Am looking for the bobby randall lyric and was directed here…

  13. LisaS on

    Hi – If you have the lyrics to ‘My Brown Skin Baby They Take ‘Im Away’ can you please send them to me? (For an assignment) Thanks, Lisa S

  14. Urgent on

    hi, but i’m doing this for a history essay so can i please have the lyrics as well?

    Thanks!!!

  15. marley on

    hi
    Can you please send me the lyrics to this song? It’s for an english assignment. thanks so much!

  16. Nadia on

    Hi, I’d like the lyrics to Brown Skin Baby as well please for an anthropology essay. Thanks

  17. Alex on

    Hi,
    Ian i please have the lyrics to Brown Skin Baby.
    I need them for a history assignment I am doing.
    Thanks

  18. Alex on

    Can**

  19. Kandace on

    Hi can you please please pleaseee send me these lyrics 🙂 Its for an english assignent and i need them ASAP thankyou!

  20. pommymike on

    You’ll find a great version of the song within the song ‘Sing About Life’ on Tiddas’s CD of the same name. It starts after 1min40secs of the song and is beautifully performed with Tiddas and Bob Randall

  21. urgent on

    I REALLY NEED THE LYRICS TO THIS SONG AND TH AUDIO FOR MY PROJECT IT WOULD BR GREAT IF U SEND THEM 😉 THNXX

  22. pommymike on

    a

    b

  23. pommymike on

    Ok, here is what I have:

    From ‘Songlines’ book by Bob Randall

    As a young preacher I used to ride,
    My quiet pony around the countryside,
    In the native camp I’ll never forget,
    A young black mother, her cheeks all wet.

    Between her sobs I heard her say,
    Police been take ’em my baby away,
    From white man boss that baby I had,
    Why he let ’em take baby away.

    Ya-weh, ya-weh,
    My brown-skin baby they take him away.

    To a children’s home a baby came,
    With new clothes on and a new name,
    Day and night he would always cry,
    “Mummy, mummy, why’d they take me away?”

    Ya-weh, ya-weh,
    My brown-skin baby they take him away.

    The child grew up and had to go,
    From the mission home that he loved so,
    To find his mother he tried in vain,
    Upon this earth he’d never see her again

    – – – – – – – – – –

    From the Tiddas version (sung with Bob Randall)

    A young stockman used to ride,
    a quiet pony ’round the countryside,
    In the native camp he’d never forget,
    A young black mother, cheeks all wet.

    Ya-weh, ya-weh,
    My brown-skin baby they take him away.

    Between her sobs he heard her say,
    Police man take my baby away,
    From white man boss, the baby I had,
    Why they take baby away.

    Ya-weh, ya-weh,
    My brown-skin baby they take him away.

    On a mission station far away,
    The boy grew up witha new name,
    For his mother he searched in vain
    Upon this earth they never met again

    Ya-weh, ya-weh,
    My brown-skin baby they take him away.

  24. Diona.Boney on

    Can i have the lyrics email too me at diona.boney@gmail.com thank you so much

  25. Diona.Boney on

    Really good song one of the best ever

  26. Josie Warrior on

    So that is the lyrics for the actual song, how do we get the audio though? Would love for my kids @ my school to be able to sing it at the assembly.

  27. bianca bolden on

    that song played on a movie. I watched it when i was younger but I cant remember the movie title. but i remember the song

  28. Leah Aataahua on

    i am trying to look for the lyrics but i can’t find it for some reason and if i don’t i will have to change for a different person for my biography and presentation this is urgent !!!!! “Brown skin Baby”

  29. josephine smith on

    Word please to brown skin baby, and any other poems. Thank for any help you can give.

  30. Janice on

    I ‘m after the song brown skin baby where can I buy it from

  31. Karoline on

    I am looking so badly after the lyrics to “Brown Skin Baby”. It’s for my exam, i have about “The Stolen Generation”.
    I will really appreciate your help!


Leave a Reply

